Day one of Nebraska State Track and Field Championships

OMAHA – The Allen boys 3,200-meter relay team held off two challengers to win a state title as area athletes competed in the first day of the 2017 Nebraska State Track and Field Championships at Burke Stadium in Omaha.

The Eagles' foursome of Isaac Verzani, Brogan Jones, Tayler Kumm and Devin Twohig held off late challenges by South Loup and Humphrey St. Francis to claim the school's first title in an event since 2007 with a time of 8:32.91. Jones handed the baton off to Kumm in first place and Kumm built a 60-meter lead before handing off to Twohig. The challengers were hot on his heels for the last 300 meters, but he held on to give Allen the win.

Kumm put Allen in a three-way tie for first place in the Class D boys team standings with a runner-up finish in the 800-meter run. He led for much of the first half of the race and ran nearly stride-for-stride with Blake Ahlers of Boyd County before running out of gas in the final 30 meters to settle for a second-place medal.

In Class B aciton, Kylie Hammer of Wayne was leading the long jump going into the finals and improved her best mark by a quarter inch before Northwest's Karsen Sears came through with a winning jump of 17 feet, 4 1/2 inches to beat Hammer's best effort of 17-2 1/4. Hammer later ran in the 200-meter relay, but did not qualify for the finals.

Hammer and discus thrower Jenna Trenhaile, who came through with a sixth-place throw of 124-5, helped put Wayne in sixth place in the Class B girls team standings with 11 points, just seven behind first-day leader Aurora.

Wayne's Grayson McBride came away with a medal in the Class B boys high jump, finishing eighth as one of five jumpers to go out at 6-6. His 6-4 effort put Wayne on the board in the boys team race. Both he and Cody Rogers competed in the triple jump, but neither made the finals.

LCC senior Jayden Reifenrath was the lone area medalist in Class C competition Friday morning, posting a seventh-place finish in the boys high jump.

Action is scheduled to continue Saturday morning at Burke Stadium.

Area results are as follows (DNQ notes did not qualify for finals):

Class C
Area Boys Results
High jump:
7. Jayden Reifenrath, LCC, 6-0.
Shot put: DNQ. Israel Gardea, Wakefield, 44-9.
Triple jump: DNQ. Solomon Peitz, Wakefield, 41-4 1/4.

Area Girls Results
Long jump:
DNQ. Savannah Nelson, Wakefield, 14-1 1/2.
200-meter dash: DNQ. Savannah Nelson, Wakefield, 28.02.

Class D
Area Boys Results
3,200 relay:
1. Allen (Isaac Verzani, Brogan Jones, Tayler Kumm, Devin Twohig), 8:32.91.
3,200: 2. Kumm, 10:25.69.
200: DNQ. William Bullard, Winside, 25.52.

Area Girls Results
DNQ. Alex Bargstadt, WInside, 97-9.
300-meter hurdles: DNQ. Bri Hingst, Allen, 51.52.

Class B
Area Boys Results
High jump:
8. Grayson McBride, Wayne, 6-4.
Triple jump: DNQ. McBride, 41-6 1/4; DNQ. Cody Rogers, Wayne, 40-4.

Area Girls Results
6. Jenna Trenhaile, Wayne, 124-6.
3,200-meter relay: DNQ. Wayne (Gabi Meyer, Frankie Klausen, Allison Echtenkamp, Kiara Hochstein), 10:15.75.
Long jump: 2. Kylie Hammer, Wayne, 17-2 1/4.
200: DNQ. Hammer, 27.64

The Wayne Herald

Mailing Address:
114 Main Street
Wayne, NE 68787
Phone: 402-375-2600

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Wayne News Newsletter feed
Comment Here