Hammer, Lee, Vyborny to play in Northeast all-star games

Three area athletes will compete with some of the finest high school basketball players in the region next month in Norfolk.

Northeast Community College will host the 35th Annual Northeast Nebraska All-Star Basketball Games in the Cox Activities Center on Friday, June 15. The girls’ game will tip-off at 6 p.m., with the boys’ game to follow at 8 p.m.

Area athletes selected to compete in the all-star games include Kylie Hammer and Mason Lee of Wayne High and JaShaun Vyborny of Winside. Tom Meyer of Winside is one of the coaches for the games.

Members of the Girls’ Light Team, including the high school where they played, include Vicki Gatzemeyer, Bancroft-Rosalie Lyons-Decatur Northeast; Lexis Haase, Guardian Angels Central Catholic; Hannah Heppner, Stanton; Kortni Kasik, Lutheran High Northeast; Macey Kulhanek, Howells-Dodge; Kyla Moore, Norfolk High; Shailece Porter, Omaha Nation; Taylor Stoltz, Norfolk High; Carly Sutherland, Pierce; and Sidney Zimmerer, Pierce. Coaches are Jared Oswald, Norfolk Senior High, and Brad Vogt, Omaha Nation.

Members of the Girls’ Dark Team include Jadyn Bussinger, North Central; Kylie Hammer, Wayne; Brittney Hinkel, West Point-Beemer; Bri Hingst, Allen; Bailey Kraus, West Holt; Caitlin Kumm, Osmond; Caitlin Orton, North Central; Jordan Peitz, Norfolk Catholic; Anna Reifenrath, Hartington Cedar Catholic; and Allie Rosener, Hartington-Newcastle. Coaches are Marcus Messersmith, Hartington-Newcastle, and Alex McCleary, North Central.

Members of the Boys’ Light Team include Justin Appleby, O’Neill; Blake Freudenburg, Lutheran High Northeast; Dylan Gentrup, Boone Central/Newman Grove; Matt Hagedorn, Norfolk High; Mason Hale, West Holt; Zack James, Norfolk High; Bryce Kerkman, West Holt; Ty Pape, Lutheran High Northeast; Jesse Sullivan, Boone Central/Newman Grove; and Alex Thramer, O’Neill. Coaches are Darin Suckstorf, Lutheran High Northeast, and Todd Hale, West Holt.

Members of the Boys’ Dark Team include MaNaPe Cleveland, Winnebago; Connor Day, Ponca; Logan Kingsbury, Ponca; Stone Kraft, Battle Creek; Alex Kumm, Osmond; D’Von LaPointe, Winnebago; Mason Lee, Wayne; Max Masin, Ponca; Ben Moxness, Logan View/Scribner-Snyder; and JaShaun Vyborny, Winside. Coaches are Adam Poulosky, Ponca, and Tom Meyer, Winside.

The Wayne Herald

Mailing Address:
114 Main Street
Wayne, NE 68787
Phone: 402-375-2600

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Wayne News Newsletter feed
Comment Here