Wildcat rugby wins third straight NSCRO 15's national title

The Wayne State women's rugby team won their third consecutive 15-on-15 national championship Sunday afternoon with a 67-12 blowout of Catholic (D.C.) University in the National Small College Rugby Organization championship game Sunday afternoon at Lee Univeristy in Atlanta, Ga.

The Wildcats jumped on Catholic from the start, using a smothering defense and their outside running game to build a 33-0 halftime lead. They scored another 24 points before Catholic finally gt on the board with 18:00 left to play, but the Wildcats answered that score with another before giving up a late score in the final eight minutes and scored one more time to close the game out.

Six Wildcats were named to the All-Tournament Team, including Brook Hoesing, Kennedy Jones, Holly Schupbach, Julia Baxter, Anna Fleecs and Selma Taylor, who was named the tournament's MVP. Schupbach also earned Outstanding Defense honors.

The win is the ninth overall for Wayne State women's rugby in 15-on-15 and 7-on-7 play, and they will get a chance to defend their national title in 7's this spring.

The Wayne Herald

Mailing Address:
114 Main Street
Wayne, NE 68787
Phone: 402-375-2600

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Wayne News Newsletter feed
Comment Here