WSC puts 40 on NSIC Winter All-Academic team

Wayne State College placed 40 student-athletes on the 2020 Northern Sun Conference Winter All-Academic Teams.

For the second year, the NSIC highlights the All-Academic Team members with a 3.60 grade point average or higher with the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence Award, and 23 of the 40 All-Academic selections from Wayne State College had a 3.60 GPA or higher.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, a student-athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher, while NSIC All-Academic Team members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher. Additionally, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution (true freshmen, redshirt freshmen and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

The WSC men’s indoor track and field team had 15 selections followed by women’s indoor track and field with 13. Women’s basketball accounted for nine honorees with men’s basketball having three selections.

The following is a listing of Wayne State student-athletes named to the 2020 NSIC Winter All-Academic Teams (*-All-Academic Team of Excellence members):

Men’s Basketball — Ben Dentlinger, Jr.; Jordan Janssen, So.; Nate Thayer, So.

Women’s Basketball — Taylor Wangerin, Sr.; Brittany Bongartz *, Jr.; Halley Busse *, Jr.; Erin Norling *, Jr.; Selena Shady, Jr.; Haley Vesey *, Jr.; Kylie Hammer *, So.; Amelia Ivester, So.; Autumn Mlinar, So.

Men’s Indoor Track & Field — Jayle Hinkle, Sr.; Dylan Kaup *, Sr.; Dylan Kessler *, Sr.; Nathan Pearson *, Sr.; Ben Allen, Jr.; Preston Davis, Jr.; Brock Hegarty *, Jr.; Nathan Hiemer *, Jr.; Bryce Holcomb *, Jr.; Cade Kalkowski, Jr.; Kyle Lowe, Jr.; Bailey Peckham *, Jr.; Aaron English *, So.; Jakob Kemper *, So.; Justin Rohloff, So.

Women’s Indoor Track & Field — Kim Johnson *, Sr.; Molly McCartney, Jr.; Sophia Noecker, Jr.; Sarah Stang *, Jr.; Kenzie Sullivan *, Jr.; Alison Dykman, So.; Marin Jetensky *, So.; Mikayla Marvin, So.; Amanda Mote *, So.; Jordyn Pester *, So.; Allie Rosener *, So.; Kori Siebert *, So.; Andrea Torres *, So.

The Wayne Herald

Mailing Address:
114 Main Street
Wayne, NE 68787
Phone: 402-375-2600

Privacy Policy

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Wayne News Newsletter feed
Comment Here