Athletes honored at Wayne High Awards Night

MVP winners from Monday’s Wayne High Athletic Awards Night were (front) Jesus Zavala, Tanner Walling, Reid Korth, Layne Evans, Jacob Kneifl, Reece Jaqua, Brogan Foote, (back) Laura Hasemann, Jamie Janke, Lauren Pick, Brooklyn Kruse, Natalie Bentjen and Kendall Dorey. (Photo by Michael Carnes)

Wayne High athletes were honored with awards earned during the 2020-21 school year at Monday’s Athletic Awards Night at Wayne High School.

Inducted into the Wayne High Athletics Hall of Fame were athletes Karissa (Hochstein) Parks, Jeff Lutt and Jacob Zeiss, along with the 1942 Class B state champion boys basketball team.

Most Valuable Player awards in each sport included:
Boys Cross Country: Jesus Zavala
Girls Cross Country: Laura Hassemann
Football: Reid Korth
Girls Golf: Natalie Bentjen
Softball: Kendall Dorey
Volleyball: Lauren Pick
Boys Basketball: Tanner Walling
Girls Basketball: Brooklyn Kruse
Wrestling: Reece Jaqua
Boys Bowling: Brogan Foote
Girls Bowling: Jamie Janke
Baseball: Jacob Kneifl
Boys Golf: Tanner Walling
Boys Track: Layne Evans
Girls Track: Brooklyn Kruse

Other awards presented included:
— Distinguished Athlete: Reid Korth and Brooklyn Kruse
— Terry Johnson Award: Frantzdie Barner
— Moller Memorial Award: Jacob Kneifl and Natalie Bentjen
— Booster Club Scholarships: Andi Belt, Nolan Hunke, Reid Korth, Koby Nelson
— Sportsmanship Award: Reid Korth and Laura Hasemann
— Stan Stednitz Memorial Cross Country Award: Christopher Woerdemann and Laura Hasemann
— Larry Gamble Memorial Award: Raul Palma
— KTCH/KCTY Runza Scholarship: Jacob Kneifl and Emily Longe
— Master Sports Award: Andi Belt, Nolan Hunke, Reid Korth, Koby Nelson
— Lincoln Journal Star Academic All-State: Reagan Backer, Brandon Bartos, Natalie Bentjen, Treyton Blecke, Courtney Brink, James Dorcey, Kendall Dorey, Nicole Fertig, Peyton French, Nolan Hunke, Jacob Kneifl, Kiara Krusemark, Nathan Kufner-Rodriguez, Emily Longe, Mikaela McManigal, Lane Muhs, Hope O’Reilly, Lauren Pick, Sydney Redden, Taytum Sweetland, Colton Vovos, Tanner Walling, Ethan Wibben, Christopher Woerdemann.

Subscriber Login

Login Help

Thank you for visiting our new website. For your initial login to the site, please use the following information:

Username: Your current username (or screen name from the previous site)
Password: Please also use your username as the password

You can change your password after successfully logging into the site. Thank you.

Trending Video


  • Oct 13, 2011 - Frye installed as 12th WSC President
    October 13, 2021
    From the Oct. 13, 2011 edition of The Wayne HeraldFrye Installed as 12th WSC PresidentAfter two years, the 'interim' is no longer in front of Curt Frye's title.On Thursday Frye was...
  • October 12, 2021
    Sodium, one of the two ions that make up salt (sodium chloride), is an essential ingredient for life. It helps keep the body’s fluids in balance and is necessary for proper functioning of...

  • 10-5-1961 - Billy Brown, son of Dr. and Mrs. J. M. Brown, got an early start, which was necessary since the snow was gone by late morning.
    October 5, 2021
    From the October 5, 1961 edition of The Wayne Herald: First snow of the year Saturday brought out sleds and called for rolling snowballs by Wayne small fry. Billy Brown, son of Dr. and Mrs...

The Wayne Herald

Mailing Address:
114 Main Street
Wayne, NE 68787
Phone: 402-375-2600

Comment Here